Where are our female superhero toys?

leia
Gabby as princess Leia

I have just found this TED talk and it is very relevant to my previous post.

I usually struggle to find toys that encourage my daughter to imagine herself as a hero. However, I keep trying to find this kind of toys to buy them for my daughter. This is important if we want to inspire our daughters (and sons); if we want them to believe that they can achieve success in non-traditional  ways .

I usually struggle to find toys that encourage my daughter to imagine herself as a hero. However, I keep trying to find this kind of toys to buy them for my daughter. This is important if we want to inspire our daughters (and sons); if we want them to believe that they can achieve success in non-traditional  ways .

Christopher Bell (https://www.ted.com/speakers/christopher_bell) specializes in the study of popular culture, focusing on the ways in which race, class and gender intersect in different forms of media. He explains better my current thoughts about this topic.

Leave a Reply

